A Problogue

Oh, hello there. You seem to have stumbled across what is to be my blog. If you’ve arrived here by accident then I offer my most sincere apologies. If you’re actually here out of choice, or if you’ve accidentally found this and decided to stay, welcome!

I’ve always been fairly sceptical about the whole blogging thing, writing down one’s opinions on things and then hoping people will read them, but I thought I’d give it a go. I imagine that in days gone by the equivalent would have been to just stand in the middle of town, shouting what you think about things – current events or the like – or maybe just letting people know that their cat did a funny thing the other day, maybe it did a flip or chased a dog or something equally unique and hilarious. I would not have excelled at that, far too much apprehension. But this modern way allows me to just put this out there and let people come and go as they see fit. Many people have had success through blogging, even going on to be almost ‘famous’. Although with some of the people who’re famous nowadays, the Kardashians, anyone in Geordie Shore etc., that doesn’t seem very impressive. Then again, maybe it takes a lot of talent to come across as someone with the IQ of a rock, I’m sure I couldn’t do it.

Anyway, blogging doesn’t seem easy. First of all, you have to think of what to call your blog, not Gary or Steve or something, but a clever, witty and relevant title to subtly inform people about what you’ll be writing. I had a couple of issues with this, 1) I’m highly uncreative and 2) I don’t really know what it is I’ll be focusing on writing about. It doesn’t help that most of the decent names have already been taken of course, but maybe I should look at that as a challenge to overcome rather than an obstacle, ah, optimism. I don’t do optimism. Will people mind that much about the title? It’s not that important really is it? Maybe I’m over thinking this. Names don’t really matter if your content is good enough, let’s just hope my writing can live up to that. I am going to keep posting words on to the web regardless, adding to the mass of letters that are spewed all over the interweb everyday, in the hope that maybe a few of my words will be of some interest to you and/or others.

I hope you stick around, you never know, it might just be worth it.

Tags: , ,

About Mark Dolan

Hello there, I'm Mark, a 21 year old English archaeology student. I write about various things; archaeology, musings on my life, and various bits of society that I have something to say about.

Leave a Reply

