The Liebster Award

I’ll begin this post by thanking Lee (http://quitefranklee.wordpress.com/) for nominating me for a Liebster award. ‘Twas a lovely thing for him to have done, and you’d be doing yourself a favour by going there and expanding your mind. I got a small rush of what one may call excitement at seeing a notification including the word ‘award’ and will thusly partake in the fun and hopefully interest you as well as persuading you to read the rest of my post and, more importantly, check out some other excellent small blogs.

The Liebster Award Rules:
You must link back the person who nominated you.
You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with fewer than 200 followers.
You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

 

10 questions answered by myself:

 1) Why did you start a blog?

My friend suggested that we both started writing blogs, and I agreed. Even though I was fairly sure I’d quickly run clean out of ideas and my brain would probably forget how to use words I thought I’d give it a go. Lo and behold, here I am.

2) What is something that amazes you?

The Internet amazes me. Think about it; really consider how we, as a race, created this incredible network where we’ve collated all the knowledge of humanity. And yet how much damage has and will be done by it?

Can you imagine if you showed William Shakespeare the Internet? Would arguably the greatest writer in England’s history even be able to begin to fathom its enormity? To what would he compare it?

3) What would you like to change about yourself?

I’ll be honest, it’s difficult to pick one thing, but I think I’d quite like to not be ridiculously prone to headaches. They suck.

4) What is your biggest fear and why?

My biggest fear would probably be heights. Asking why I have that fear seems like an odd thing to do. Who knows why they’re afraid of something? Obviously I don’t particularly like the thought of falling and dying from great heights, but many people would say there’s got to be a reason for my fear. People who buy into the utter rubbish that Sigmund Freud came up with would say that something happened in my childhood and I can’t remember it because it’s a ‘repressed memory’. To those people I offer this eloquent rebuttal: Shut up, you’re wrong. Deal with it.

5) What do you consider your best quality?

I was going to write a sarcastic answer to this question, but I feel like that would be somewhat an injustice to the question. For that reason, I’ll give an honest answer. Sometimes I think of puns. Occasionally people laugh.

6) Where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time?

Hopefully I’ll have finished university by that time, so given the current state of the economy, coupled with the likelihood of it dramatically improving, and throwing in the job prospects of my potential degree – Archaeology – I’ll probably be unemployed. But if I weren’t so optimistic…

7) What is your favourite book and why?

My favourite book would probably have to be Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray. I love it because Wilde has the sort of views that can just make you think more about many different subjects in a way you’d be unlikely to in everyday life. It’s just a joy to read too, there’s no dragging as there is with some books. It’s also wonderfully quotable, almost to the same extent as Napoleon Dynamite.

8) Which three places would you most like to visit ?

Firstly, New Zealand. It’s one of the most beautiful countries in the world, where there seems to be nothing but happiness. Also, Lord of the Rings was filmed there. Secondly, America. It’s the big one, isn’t it. As an Englishman I hold a fascination with the USA and I just want to experience it all first hand. Thirdly, China. It’s such a different culture to ours, it would be incredible. The food is also a massive draw for me, the classic street food, fried insects, sparrows, basically anything that people in England wouldn’t dream of eating.

9) What is your biggest regret?

Image

Sorry, I misread the question,

I can’t think of one specific example, and this is rather an on-going regret, but I regret not being more out-going and talking to new people without fear of being judged/laughed at/punched etc. Unfortunately, social anxiety means that I’m sure there’ll be more of these moments to regret in the future.

10) What is your fondest memory?

This is a very hard question. I have a very poor memory most of the time, unless you want to know the US states or the elements song of course. For this reason, I’ll go for a recent memory. My group of friends gathered at one of my friends’ houses and we spent the evening there as a goodbye type thing as everyone is planning to leave for university soon. I won’t go into specific details, but it was a good night, so I’ll go with that for now.

My questions for others:

1)   Describe yourself in 3 words

2)   You can only eat one meal for the rest of your life. What would it be?

3)   If you could spend one day as any historical figure, who would you pick, and why?

4)   What’s the most unusual thing you’ve ever done?

5)   Who do you list as an inspiration/role model?

6)   What’s your favourite film?

7)   You can invite 4 people, alive or dead, to a dinner party. Who would you pick, and why?

8)   What do you enjoy about blogging?

9)   Which genre of book do you enjoy reading most?

10)  What’s your favourite sport?

My nominations:

I only have 7 nominations here rather than the full 10, for the fact that

I don’t have the time to find any further blogs. These are great ones though,                     take the time to have a look!

1)   http://jackthesocietyslayer.wordpress.com/

2)   http://haruspis.wordpress.com/

3)    http://noroomforhumor.wordpress.com/

4)   http://nonnegoatible.wordpress.com/

5)   http://whoneedsmalltalk.wordpress.com/

6)   http://practicallyperfection.wordpress.com/

7)   http://speculationcorner.wordpress.com/

Tags: , ,

About Mark Dolan

Hello there, I'm Mark, a 21 year old English archaeology student. I write about various things; archaeology, musings on my life, and various bits of society that I have something to say about.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Liebster Award | haruspis - August 31, 2013

Leave a Reply

